Skip to content

12 days of anime #4 – My part-time job [Suzumiya Haruhi no Shoushitsu]

22.12.2014

Now, I don’t wanna talk too much about my life, but I’m really running out of ideas for these posts so I have to bring this up. I’ve got a part-time job: a contributor for Soul Magazine. It is ridiculous talking about a Vietnamese magazine when I’m writing in English, I know, but to me this is also something significant that came out of just watching anime and blogging for fun, which is worth mentioning.

It’almost unbelievable. Only until last year did I start announcing my love for the anime industry, but some stranger still managed to find my blog and ask me to write reviews for them. I had never written anything for magazines before. I’d admit feeling extremely inferior occasionally when it came to writing and anime. Even so, I was a foolish graduate who didn’t know what I wanted to do with my life, thus I agreed to take this opportunity. At that time I was busy translating a book as a part-timer (again, a foolish and futile pursuit) so the actual cooperation was delayed. After finishing the project, I vaguely decided that my blog should be of more importance and Soul had to wait for even longer.

All the same, I still got around to send them a few reviews. It seems that Soul is quite easy-going, which is why one of them has been published in the latest issue (vol. 11). You can show some pity for me by checking it out.

Soul Suzumiya Haruhi

My first published piece of writing is a review of Suzumiya Haruhi no Shoushitsu. It has some flaws but on the whole, I still like it a lot, just like how I feel towards most of my review posts on this blog.

Suzumiya Haruhi series is the only one that I watched in high school; its original novel is the first light novel I’ve ever read. I kind of like the series, and the Shoushitsu movie is little short of endearing. There’s always something vulnerable in Nagato. Both her human and alien versions demonstrate some very simple wishes and feelings, as well as the inability to communicate her thoughts effectively. A person that is out of sync with her world. A shy and quiet introvert who one day wants to make a revolution. An inevitable failure. Somehow I’m glad it’s me who can write the review for such a movie.

.

P.S. Dear kind and forgiving editor,

If you happen to read these words (although I bet you won’t), please believe me that  I’ll get down to writing that Tonari no Seki-kun review right after I finish this 12 days series. I swear, I promise, I guarantee it =))

Leave a Comment

Comment gì đi bạn, mình sẽ lắng nghe :D

