Skip to content

12 days of anime #6 – A little love for some laughs [Nichijou]

20.12.2014

Around the end of last year, I had the habit of watching short youtube comedy clips from different anime, some most notable titles are Nichijou, Danshi Koukousei no Nichijou and Joshiraku. Each clip is about 3 minutes that can offer a good laugh. I even went on to experience the full series of Tonari no Seki-kun. This habit lasted for a few months, making the beginning of this year such a jolly time.

Danshi Koukousei no Nichijou is my favourite of all, while Tonari no Seki-kun is also consistently funny throughout with 7 minutes of hijinks every week. Joshiraku is not as accessible due to its huge number of cultural and societal references. Nichijou is hit-and-miss, partly due to Kyoto Animation’s tradition to present insufferably cute characters. Sometimes, it is too over the top, whereas other times, it hits real hard.

I watched so many of them that one dream of mine turned into a comedy, too.

Dreams used to be a fantasy world for me to enter as a child. They used to be so full of interesting, curious places, creatures and stories. When I grew up, they became duller. Most of the dreams then only featured mundane daily activities of my life, from meeting friends to taking buses and going to school, which is why it was strangely refreshing to dream of being a character in a comedy anime.

Once I was taking a nap when my dream led me to the world of Nichijou. The first part of it was quite normal as my university in the dream held a cultural festival. I casually stepped into a room where people were lining up to see a fortune teller. After waiting for a while, I casually walked out, and everything around me suddenly transformed into an anime, with all these hand drawn Nichijou characters hustling in the school yard. There was some kind of commotion happening and some people started to chase me down for no reason at all. I didn’t quite remember the detail but it was a misunderstanding and the chase scene ended with a good punchline. According to how my dream person interpreted it, the end was so amusing that I couldn’t help crackling.

I laughed on and on to the point that I woke up.

It is bizarre, to dream a funny dream and laugh until you wake up. I do have some nightmares once in a while that frighten me and drag me out of my sleep in the middle of the night. Or there was even this depressing dream that made me feel so sad my tears welled up and I had to get out of the dream just to cry.

But an overbearingly hilarious dream? This is golden. I’m missing those comedies already. Now I’m just ragged and I want to dream more of this.

Leave a Comment

Comment gì đi bạn, mình sẽ lắng nghe :D

