Skip to content

12 days of anime #7 – That ending [Wasurenagumo]

19.12.2014

Dear readers, this year I watched Wasurenagumo. It left me feeling flabbergasted. I want someone to share this feeling with me.

If you haven’t heard of it, I’d recommend this movie. It’s only 20 minutes long. It’s a part of the government-funded Young Animator Training Project / Anime Mirai 2011, but even this detail is not so important. As can be inferred from the name, this project is to train young animators in Japan. You can also check out other prominent movies from the project such as Oji-san no Lamp (2010) or Little Witch Academia (2012). They’re just as cool, the former being sentimental and the latter being full of energy.

But Wasurenagumo, it’s just… no I’m speechless.

It’s a whole other level. It’s a comedy so it’s supposed to be funny. Maybe I need to upgrade my sense of humour after this. But never mind, I laughed a lot actually.

It’s also of the supernatural genre since it tells the story of a moe spider girl in an old bookstore. So the movie tries to be creepy and funny at the same time.

As a non-TV series, it’s so good that I will remember how it makes me feel for a very long time to come.

Wasurenagumo
[warning: minor spoiler]

Wasurenagumo is really clever in calculating its viewers’ feelings. I felt just the way it expects me to.

You know the first thing I did after finishing Wasurenagumo was to search the internet for other viewers of it. I really need a fellow viewer to pat me on my back and console me. I don’t want to be alone, I want somebody to feel this with me.

When a movie ends like this one, it’s perfect time to watch or read about people’s reaction.

It’s been a few months so I’ve already warmed up to what happened. I can even laugh at the ending too. That’s brilliant. They cleverly contrast the cuteness and the creepiness. They mute the sound when they know you will internally roar in anger or bafflement at that scene. Then they go ahead and tell you that there’s another layer to the plot by briefly introducing a new character right before the ending song. Psgels from Star Crossed Anime Blog, a fellow viewer, made this comment that I fully agree: Wasurenagumo is a horror at heart, it just manages to conceal that side so well you couldn’t realize it until the very ending.

There’s a lot to learn from this movie, I mean, from the storytelling aspect at least.

Leave a Comment

Comment gì đi bạn, mình sẽ lắng nghe :D

